-1

It doesn't matter which one the player chooses in that situation, but I'm wondering whether someone can come up with a game where this holds true for at least one move.

3

Sure. You can take basically any position where the 50 move rule could be invoked, rewind four moves for both sides, and instead have both players move a piece back and forth twice.

1
  • Indeed, since the 50-move rule does not have to be invoked at exactly the fiftieth move (only when the last 50 moves have all been non-capture non-pawn), you can just do a three-fold repetition even without rewinding. – Patrick Stevens Dec 29 '20 at 17:58

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.