1

I understand that the opening 1. d4 d5 2. c4 e6 3. Nf3 Nf6 is called Queen's Gambit Declined. But how about 1. d4 Nf6 2. Nf3 e6 3. c4 d5? There is no gambit offered, let alone declined. Is it still called Queen's gambit declined?

  • In either variation, it's still not a true gambit. – Mike Jones May 9 at 16:32
  • @MikeJones, well, in the order 1. d4 d5, 2. c4. Black has the option to accept the gambit, though the choice may not be the best one. – Zuriel May 9 at 19:07
  • The Queen's Gambit isn't a true gambit as black can't keep the pawn. Other gambits trade the gambit pawn for another advantage. – Mike Jones May 10 at 1:36
3

They reach the same position, so they have the same name. It wouldn't make sense to call the same position differently depending on the moves that lead to it. 1.f4 e5 2.e4 is a King's gambit, not a declined From's gambit. 1.e4 c6 2.d4 d5 3.cxd5 exd5 4.c4 Nf6 5.Nc3 e6 6.Nf3 is a Tarrasch Defence despite having started as a Caro-Kann

| improve this answer | |
9

Yes, it is still called the Queen's Gambit Declined. That's just the name of the system, regardless of the move order used to reach it. However, it is not the QGD before Black chooses to push 3...d5.

| improve this answer | |
1

This is a transposition, you have to think about the pawn structure instead on focusing on the concrete order, there are thousands of different ways of getting to the same (or quite similar) positions

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.