When I play with my friend, he will often knock his own king over when he is going to lose.

He ends the game and says, "I lose".

Is this permissible?

  • 5
    I think there's nothing wrong with it, I have seen many players resign this way. Oct 12, 2013 at 9:42
  • 6
    It's very typical and acceptable. He is admitting defeat.
    – Tony Ennis
    Oct 12, 2013 at 12:13
  • it seem generally to happened without some legal rules to define it. thanks. Oct 13, 2013 at 5:27
  • 2
    You can actually get shot for this in the hood, disqualified in tournament matches. etc. No, but seriously...what are you expecting a resignation to look like? Do you want him to bow down to your feet? Dec 9, 2017 at 6:32
  • There are three different questions here: (1) Is deliberately knocking over the king forbidden? (2) Is deliberately knocking over the king bad etiquette? (3) Does deliberately knocking over the king end the game? Note that some forbidden conduct causes the game to end immediately with a result other than resignation (eg using an electronic device, at least under FIDE rules). Dec 13, 2020 at 13:56

3 Answers 3


here is a link addressing this question exactly i quote:

It depends on the way you do it, generally it's not rude, though.

Once I was playing a tough game against the late GM Wojo, and got a balanced and complicated position, but also considerable time pressure. After the time pressure was over I realized that I have totally blown up my position, played 41.Kg1-g0 and pressed the clock. Wojo was surprised at first, but later he had a good laugh.


Yes, players often tip their king over to indicate that they are resigning.


Is this permissible?

This mostly depends on the chess customs in your country. Personally, I have never ever seen somebody in past 13 years who did this in official tournament. But in unofficial games with friends this is totally acceptable.

  • 1
    From my experiences, most games end with resignation, not checkmate. Usually the losing player stops the clock and doesn't actually tip his King. But I have seen it during tournament play.
    – Tony Ennis
    Oct 13, 2013 at 12:27
  • I frequently see this in official tournaments.
    – dfan
    Oct 13, 2013 at 20:34

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.