1

In the position at 14:28 of this video, why can't black just make the move f6? I wish to know as it was stated in the video that black will lose the other rook.

[FEN "2k3r1/ppp1qpPp/2n1b3/2b3B1/2ppN1P1/8/PPP2P1P/R2QR1K1 w - - 0 1"]
4

After f6 White takes with the bishop and Black loses a piece (bishop on c5 since d6 square is attacked by the white knight and f8 is attacked by the white pawn; no other piece is protecting the bishop).

| improve this answer | |
  • 3
    Should add, that after Qf7, Nxc5, Qxf6 white wins the Be6 which is twice attacked. – user1583209 Mar 20 at 9:14

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.