5

I was playing this game in-person with someone and I was white. My opponent had a pawn on a7 and kept moving his king back and forth between c6 and d6 at least 3-4 times while I maneuvered my bishop around the board to capture his pawn on a7 to make room for my past pawn. After I captured his pawn on a7 he moved his king back to d6 and claimed it was a draw because at that time he had moved his king back and forth on the same 2 squares 6 times. I understand the 3 fold repetition but his king had other squares to move and wasn't in a perpetual check. Was this a valid draw?enter image description here

13

No, it was not a draw. For a draw by three-fold repetition, the exact position, and all of the possible moves (castling and en passant, which since en passant can only happen on the move, in essence, it requires a fourth repetition of the position), have to be repeated three times.

It was clearly a case of your opponent not really knowing the rules.

It seems like he was somewhat confusing, and mixing, three-fold repetition with the 50-move rule, which requires 50 moves of just moving around without a pawn move or capture with repeating the position three times.

P.S. The repetitions do not need to be consecutive.

| improve this answer | |
  • Many players especially newer ones and those who do not play in tournaments do not know all the rules. I played someone at the club we had at the uni who did not know en passant. – yobamamama Jan 9 at 19:19
  • 2
    Thanks Phish, I thought it was odd and I've never heard of a 6-move draw like that before. I don't play too often so I'm not too familiar with ruling like that. I just agreed for the game's sake but I know I was in a winning position to promote the pawn and pick off the rest. – tigerzblood Jan 9 at 19:25
  • Primarily YOUR figures didn't take part in the repetition - as your bishop moved with a clear goal and clearly changed and did not repeat its move – eagle275 Jan 10 at 8:37
  • "P.S. The repetitions do not need to be consecutive." They don't? Must be hard to keep track then. – Mast Jan 10 at 11:38
  • No, they do not. Considering the rule is really borne of tournaments, you keep score there, so there is proof. That said, it might be hard for a weaker player to realize they have had a three-fold repetition, but most experienced players have an idea they have repeated three times, and then they can just glance at their scoresheet to confirm. It might need to be a bit more obvious if you are playing blitz, and thus, in a row is easier to prove. – PhishMaster Jan 10 at 11:50

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.