2

I recently played Lichess game that left me confused.

My opponent had 1 second left on the clock when the game was suddenly drawn. There was no repitition nor was the 50-move rule invoked. Did the program cheat me?

2

This was a draw by threefold repetition.

The final position:

6k1/pp1r2p1/2n4p/3p4/3P4/1BP1R3/PP3PPP/6K1 w - - 19 37

had been repeated three times in the game.

It first appeared after 32. ... Kg8, then after 34. ... Nc6 and finally after 36. ... Nc6.

Although players normally have to claim a draw by threefold repetition manually, Lichess performs the claim automatically if the time left on their clock is below some predefined threshold. Since your opponent only had 1 second left, this is likely what happened.

  • 3 fold repetition require a 3 repetitions sequentially, so incorrect – Chessman Aug 14 '19 at 15:14
  • 7
    They do not have to be sequential. See FIDE Laws of Chess, 9.2. – konsolas Aug 14 '19 at 15:23

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.