I am new to chess, so sorry for this obvious question. I was surfing through the web and learned the en passant rule. In this question they say "You cannot wait a few moves and then use the en passant capture." So I went searching through websites to find out if I can wait, then play the en passant capture and found nothing. So what I want to know is, if for example there are 2 pawns by each other, can I wait and play a few moves and then perform the move. Example: (I know the image below can't happen, but just saying.)

enter image description here

And then play a few moves like shown below.

enter image description here

And finally capture the white piece using en passant.

  • 1
    Welcome to Chess! Carefully reading the first two answers in the linked question will clear up your doubt, so I've marked this question as a duplicate.
    – Glorfindel
    Jun 28, 2019 at 18:10
  • 1
    Not relevant to the en passant question, but I just wanted to note that the first position you show actually can happen. 1.Nf3 e5 2.Ng1 e4 3.d4 and then Black can capture en passant.
    – itub
    Jun 28, 2019 at 18:30
  • This question is easily answered using Google.
    – Qudit
    Jun 29, 2019 at 0:53

1 Answer 1


En-passant can only occur immediately after a pawn moves two squares from its starting square, where it could have been captured had it only moved one square.

You cannot wait a move: if you choose not to immediately capture en-passant, you lose the ability to do so next move.


Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.