4

I was practicing with stockfish level 8, having two rooks in the endgame whereas stockfish has only one. At the 78th move, it was declared as a draw. But, it was not a stalemate. Can anyone please help me, finding out why is this a drawn match ?

enter image description here

11

The game ended because of the 50-Move-Rule.

From Wikipedia:

The fifty-move rule in chess states that a player can claim a draw if no capture has been made and no pawn has been moved in the last fifty moves (for this purpose a "move" consists of a player completing their turn followed by the opponent completing their turn).

The last capture was made by white at move 28. (Rgxg6), so the game is declared a draw on move 78.

  • 1
    Appreciated, thank you for your efforts! Some day I will get the formatting right, I swear! :) – Benjamin Raabe Feb 18 at 12:46
4

You most likely played 50 moves without a capture or a pawn move. This is called the 50-move rule, which results in a draw.

Check back to around move 28. You should see the last capture/pawn move there.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.