Scenario: It's Player A's move, and without executing a move he offers a draw. Player B replies "Please make a move". Player A then makes a move, where upon player B says: "Ok, I accept". Is it now possible for Player A to say that the draw offer no longer stands, and was in fact nullified when it was not originally accepted during the period between the offer and the move that Player A did?

1 Answer 1


No, Player A cannot do this. FIDE rules of chess article 9.1.1:

A player wishing to offer a draw shall do so after having made a move on the chessboard and before stopping his clock and starting the opponent’s clock. An offer at any other time during play is still valid but Article 12.6 must be considered. No conditions can be attached to the offer. In both cases the offer cannot be withdrawn and remains valid until the opponent accepts it, rejects it orally, rejects it by touching a piece with the intention of moving or capturing it, or the game is concluded in some other way.

Key parts highlighted. Player A made the draw offer at one of these "other times", so it's still valid and cannot be withdrawn. Player B asking player A to make a move, and player A actually making a move, are not one of the four actions that can terminate the draw offer, so the offer remains valid.

  • 1
    What if the move Player A made was to checkmate Player B? I assume that would be covered under "the game is concluded in some other way" and thus the draw would automatically be rescinded?
    – Michael
    Commented Dec 31, 2018 at 5:14
  • @Michael To be honest I don't know, but it sounds like it, although obviously player B is going to accept before getting checkmated.
    – Allure
    Commented Dec 31, 2018 at 5:21
  • 3
    Checkmate immediately ends the game. You can't accept a draw offer after you've been mated. Stalemate also immediately ends the game.
    – itub
    Commented Dec 31, 2018 at 5:43

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.