It is not allowed to draw till move 30. Are the players forced to find another moves in case of threefold repetition?

1 Answer 1


Draw by mutual agreement is not allowed before move 30. But a draw by threefold repetition can be claimed at any point if it occurs.

  • 4
    And a stale-mate would also be allowed ... Commented Nov 22, 2018 at 22:34
  • 1
    ...and the players can agree on a draw at any time if the arbiter allows it.
    – TonyK
    Commented Nov 25, 2018 at 21:14

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.