So let's say I capture en passant with a pawn. Using the same pawn, I get to the 8th rank. Can I promote that pawn into anything else? I've heard of this restriction in various ways. Some say it can become a rook at best, and some say it just stays as a pawn, but it moves backwards.

Please let me know if this is a classic case of "I'm losing better make some stuff," or an actual rule.

4 Answers 4


From FIDE rules (3.7 e):

When a pawn reaches the rank furthest from its starting position it must be exchanged as part of the same move on the same square for a new queen, rook, bishop or knight of the same colour. The player’s choice is not restricted to pieces that have been captured previously. This exchange of a pawn for another piece is called ‘promotion’ and the effect of the new piece is immediate.

There is no restrictions whatsoever about capturing en passant.


For as long as I can remember, there has never been a rule like that in any official matter. The pawn captures en passant and lately it can promote like any other pawn.


The fact that a pawn has made an en passant capture does not alter or limit its capabilities at all, including its ability to promote to a queen or other piece when it reaches the eighth rank.


Nothing changes whatsoever to the pawn. It can still promote to a queen, rook, bishop, or knight.

  • 1
    This question was answered a year ago.
    – Brandon_J
    Commented Sep 22, 2019 at 21:38
  • @Brandon_J why does that matter? Commented Sep 23, 2019 at 7:24
  • Well, your post adds little to no value to the site. You introduce no ideas or methods of explanation that weren't already present in the other 3 answers.
    – Brandon_J
    Commented Sep 23, 2019 at 12:58
  • It doesn't add any harm and maybe another way of explaining the concept could be helpful to someone. Commented Sep 23, 2019 at 16:31
  • Would someone care to explain the two downvotes for my answer, other than it being a year late? Commented Sep 25, 2019 at 4:37

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.