2

So let's say I capture En Passant with a pawn, using that same pawn I get to the 8th rank. Can I promote that pawn into anything else? I've heard of this restriction in various ways. Some say it can become a rook at best, some say it just stays a pawn, but moves backwards.

Please let me know if this is a classic case of "I'm losing better make some stuff up." Or an actual rule.

16

From FIDE rules (3.7 e):

When a pawn reaches the rank furthest from its starting position it must be exchanged as part of the same move on the same square for a new queen, rook, bishop or knight of the same colour. The player’s choice is not restricted to pieces that have been captured previously. This exchange of a pawn for another piece is called ‘promotion’ and the effect of the new piece is immediate.

There is no restrictions whatsoever about capturing en passant.

5

For as long as I can remember, there has never been a rule like that in any official matter. The pawn captures en-passant and lately it can promote like any other pawn.

2

The fact that a pawn has made an en passant capture does not alter or limit its capabilities at all, including its ability to promote to a queen or other piece when it reaches the eighth rank.

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.