-2

This question already has an answer here:

enter image description hereI moved my white King to d4, taking black's bishop. This put the king in a checkmate with black's knight on c6. Is this move legal or illegal? Thank you.

marked as duplicate by Brian Towers, Daniel Alfredo Sottile, Herb Wolfe, Community Sep 12 '18 at 21:54

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • Put a diagram of your position, to understand the situation. – djnavas Sep 12 '18 at 15:47
  • 3
    Did you mean "This put the king in check" ? Because checkmate is a different concept. – Daniel Alfredo Sottile Sep 12 '18 at 16:14
  • 3
    That image needs to be rotated 90 degrees clockwise. Better yet, use FEN to enter it as a diagram. See this meta post for more details. – GreenMatt Sep 12 '18 at 16:22
  • 1
    Sorry all I am not very proficient when posting...my first time. – jsweede Sep 12 '18 at 17:03
2

Kd4 is not a legal move. You are never allowed to put yourself into a check.

Even though it's possible to argue "black's knight can't take my king as that would put his king in check", it's still not legal. You can imagine that if the game could continue, black would capture the white king before white could capture the black king, and black would therefore win. This is of course just a device for explaining the why, as capturing a king is just as much an illegal move as putting your own king in check.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.