2

https://lichess.org/qgvWa0ly

I (black) was losing and ready to resign soon. As far as I can tell, there should be no stalemate or 50 move rule applicable. I had offered a draw earlier, but it was declined. Can the opponent accept the draw later after first declining? That wouldn't be fair.

8

In a chess there's a 3-fold repetition rule, if the same position appears 3 times, a player can call a draw. Your opponent allowed a 3-fold repetition, hence, the game was drawn.

3k4/8/p1PK2p1/1p4P1/1P6/P7/8/8 w - - 11 57

Edit: clarifying in light of comments:

Note that the draw does not happen until claimed by a player, and since you didn't claim it, your opponent must have. Why would they claim a draw in a winning position where they had more time on their clock? On lichess.org, you can control the "claim draw on threefold repetition automatically" setting. Yours is set to "when time remaining <30 seconds", but the opponent's must have been set to "Always". Players who normally play under faster time controls sometimes use the "Always" setting to ensure predictable draws under time pressure. You got lucky in this situation because your opponent didn't recognize the 3-fold repetition, and their winning chances were undone by their settings.

  • Ah, of course. Sorry, I have no idea why I didn't realize that. I'm well aware of the 3-fold repetition rule, I just spaced out there. But that leads to another question: why was the draw automatic? In my lichess settings, I have the option "claim draw on threefold repetition automatically" set to "when time remaining <30 seconds". My time was at 0:43. – Jordan Rieger Aug 25 '18 at 2:21
  • 3
    Or maybe the opponent had the setting at "Always". That must be it. – Jordan Rieger Aug 25 '18 at 2:22

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.