I can't understand how Taimanov (playing White) resigned in the following position against Karpov from the Moscow team leagues in 1973:

enter image description here

After 40.Rc2 or 40.d5 the position seems to be equal. I know Taimanov was notorious for getting into time trouble. Did he just forfeit on time?

  • 1
    Rc2 Nxf3+? followed by Nxe4 maybe? I think that sided knigth is stronger than it looks
    – user16971
    Aug 1 '18 at 8:21
  • Stockfish actually favors d5 over Rc2, but its mostly a draw.
    – Isac
    Aug 1 '18 at 15:06

In the book "How Karpov Wins" by Edmar Mednis it is stated on page 174 that "White overstepped the time limit and lost". The book seems to be fully available on Google books and has a lot more analysis of the match.


  • 2
    last move of time control too, what a bummer Aug 1 '18 at 4:53
  • @CecilDeVere ah you mean just 1 more move until the players get the time bonus?
    – BCLC
    Sep 5 at 9:45

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.