0

In a game of "Sort of Almost Chess", the variant from Mr. Betza that replaces one of the queens with a Marshall (the Rook+Knight compound, also known as the Chancellor, or the Empress in Fairy Chess circles), this surfaced as a possible endgame that was narrowly avoided by a slightly controversial promotion by Black. The Marshall and Queen are represented in the diagram as Knight and Bishop, respectively (given that they can both move as rooks).

    [Date "2018.06.26"]
[Round "-"]
[White "NN"]
[Black "James"]
[Result "?"]
 [FEN "7B/8/6K1/8/8/1k6/6P1/n7 w - - 0 1"]

Given that Black's to move, I'm wondering if it's possible for either side to get a win from this position. A Black Queen (the promotion that actually took place instead of this position) is a forced win for Black with careful play, and Marshall vs. Marshall is almost certainly a draw, but the similar yet different power of the pieces here makes it a complex problem.

  • 3
    If the piece on h8 is a queen, why not use the queen pictogram instead of a bishop ? – Evargalo Jun 29 '18 at 12:47
  • Yeah I’m confused. If rules replace both queens with marshals, how/why is there a bishop representing a queen in the diagram? – Todd Wilcox Jun 29 '18 at 22:56
  • Regarding the pictogram, I supposed that if one of the major pieces is going to be wrong, they might as well both be wrong, and hopefully that way people would be reminded of the difference between the two, given that the Marshall isn't a regular piece. Concerning the rules, they replace one of the original Queens with a Marshall -- the other one is still a Queen! In this endgame, though, two pawns were promoted to those that you see on the board. – James Gryphon Jun 30 '18 at 2:32

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.