-1

enter image description here

White to move.
Checkmate black in two moves.

  • To the downvoters: a comment to explain what's wrong might be useful to educate new users and help retaining them. – Federico Poloni May 19 '18 at 8:18
  • @FedericoPoloni Indeed. It's not always obvious. In this case, however, it is obvious. The problem is so trivial as to be a complete waste of time. – Brian Towers May 19 '18 at 9:54
  • @BrianTowers It seems like a reasonable question for a beginner. Is there a rule that beginner questions are frowned upon here? This doesn't seem much more trivial than, for instance, chess.stackexchange.com/questions/18848/king-move-to-other-side or chess.stackexchange.com/questions/16427/… . – Federico Poloni May 19 '18 at 10:25
  • 2
    @FedericoPoloni I'm not sure that it is reasonable. It's obviously taken from a book, with no attribution. There's no question other than the implied find the move, which any engine can give you immediately. – Herb Wolfe May 19 '18 at 11:57
  • 3
    I'm voting to close this question as off-topic because it is not a question, but more of a social media post – Ywapom May 19 '18 at 23:56
2

The solution is

1.Qxf7. If Kh8, then Qxf8#. And if Rxf7, then Rd8# - the rook cannot block because it is pinned by the bishop.

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.