Under FIDE law 9.3.1, a player to move may claim a 50-move draw by writing down the intended 50th move and making the claim.

Supposing this claim is otherwise valid; if the move would checkmate then is the game drawn?


1 Answer 1


Mate ends the game immediately, but the mating move must be made, not just written down. If the player only writes the move down and claims a draw in the correct way, it's a draw (but I doubt it'll ever happen in practice).

  • 1
    Makes sense, but see chess.stackexchange.com/a/19715/12523 for an opposing view from an IA, who says "you need to consider the position as if the move had been played", also giving the example of a 50th move that makes a capture.
    – itub
    Apr 5, 2018 at 21:25

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.