Under FIDE law 9.3.1, a player to move may claim a 50-move draw by writing down the intended 50th move and making the claim.

Supposing this claim is otherwise valid; if the move would checkmate then is the game drawn?


Mate ends the game immediately, but the mating move must be made, not just written down. If the player only writes the move down and claims a draw in the correct way, it's a draw (but I doubt it'll ever happen in practice).

  • 1
    Makes sense, but see chess.stackexchange.com/a/19715/12523 for an opposing view from an IA, who says "you need to consider the position as if the move had been played", also giving the example of a 50th move that makes a capture.
    – itub
    Apr 5 '18 at 21:25

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.