I have only king left with two pawns but they are blocked. By how many moves an opponent has to checkmate me?


1 Answer 1


There is no such limit. In the official rules, §9.3, it is stated that there's a limit of 50 moves during which a pawn must move or a piece/pawn must be captured. If that doesn't happen, you can claim a draw.

I have heard that there are some circles a stronger limit is imposed when the weaker side has only a lone king (so, not two pawns), but those are unofficial rules and we can't say much about that.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.