[FEN "8/8/8/3pk3/1K6/8/8/8 w - - 0 1"]
Even with White to move, the game is lost. OK, but according to what rule/principle?
With 1. Kc3
- I'm able to get first to one of the key squares (c3,d3,e3)
- I get the diagonal opposition with the black King
- I can occupy the black's promotion square before the black's King
In spite of all that, the ending is lost. Is it because I can't keep the oposition?
p.s. The point of all this is to be able to evaluate this basic position only by applying rules, not having to calculate the concrete variations.