1

During a game of chess, after several moves. Is it an automatic win as soon as you get your king all the way across the board?

I was told this is a tournament rule.

  • 1
    They were definitely fooling you! Maybe your opponent was lost but somehow managed to reach the 8th rank with the king? – David Jul 16 at 10:46
5

No, this is not a rule in chess. There are plenty of games where one king reaches its 8th rank, and the game continues, with all three results still possible. Here are the Fide rules

4

As Evargalo notes in their answer, that is not part of the official rules of chess. However, Lichess.com has an online, playable chess variant called "Racing Kings," you in which your mentioned rule holds true.

protected by Phonon Jul 16 at 12:32

Thank you for your interest in this question. Because it has attracted low-quality or spam answers that had to be removed, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site (the association bonus does not count).

Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.