2

During a game of chess, after several moves. Is it an automatic win as soon as you get your king all the way across the board?

I was told this is a tournament rule.

2
  • 3
    They were definitely fooling you! Maybe your opponent was lost but somehow managed to reach the 8th rank with the king? – David Jul 16 '19 at 10:46
  • I hope this did not happen during a tournament game. – Brian Drake Mar 4 at 14:23
5

No, this is not a rule in chess. There are plenty of games where one king reaches its 8th rank, and the game continues, with all three results still possible. Here are the Fide rules

5

As @Evargalo noted in their answer, that is not part of the official rules of chess. However, lichess.org hosts a chess variant called "Racing Kings" in which your mentioned rule holds true.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.