The rule says: Delivering a double-check is worth +5, and triple-checks are worth +15

Is a double check when I am

  • checking two players at one move
  • checking one player with a normal double check
  • checking a player that is already under check

Counting that there is a "triple check" either the rule one or three should be true because you can not give a triple check to one player by only your move. However, I am not sure if there are points for the normal double-check.

2 Answers 2


Double Check in 4 man chess basically means checking two kings in one move. Same goes for triple check.

PS. It's not worth the points so don't go for it unless you win because of it.

  • 2
    But what if I will deliver a double check to one King? Or deliver a double check to one King and a Normal check to another in one Move? Commented Feb 17, 2018 at 9:21
  • 1
    Depends on number of Kings you check. So double check as in normal chess ie. to one king is not possible
    – A.Shetye
    Commented Mar 2, 2018 at 16:24

Double Check

As @A.Shetye has pointed out, Double check means checking two kings at once in your single move.

More discussion on the topic is mentioned in this chess.com post - Double and triple checks 4pc

Double Checkmate

Well, in fact, in 4-player chess, you can even "Double Checkmate" your opponents. Have a look at a recent game I've played. I've checkmated both the kings at once xD

Double checkmating - 4 Player Chess

Here's the game link - https://www.chess.com/variants/4-player-chess/game/31704333/154/4

  • 1
    They should award a GM norm for that
    – David
    Commented Nov 16, 2022 at 13:28

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.