In a FIDE rated blitz (3+2) tournament (following the official FIDE rules), the following position occurred:
[FEN "8/1k5P/q7/8/8/8/6K1/6Q1 w - - 0 1"]
1.h8Q. But since both queens were on the board, the White player had no choice but to take a White rook, flip it and then place it on the h8 square. He then pressed the clock to complete the move.
The Black player immediately stopped the clock, complained to the arbiter because the flipped rook wasn't a legal chess piece. Thus, the Black player argued his opponent had made an illegal move in the blitz game.
The arbiter agreed and awarded the game as a win for Black due to the illegal move.
Q1: What does the FIDE rule say? Was the arbiter's decision correct?
Q2: If it was indeed an illegal move under the FIDE blitz rule. What should the White player have done? How would the player promote to queen (not rook!) when the White queen was already on the board? All other chess boards (and the queens) were occupied.