1

Most computer chess games consider castling to be a king move. You click on the king and it shows an option to castle.

enter image description here

What do the FIDE's rules say about this though? Is castling a king move, a rook move, both, or neither?

  • 1
    As far as I know, you should touch king first. Touching rook against moron could lead to moves like Rg1 or Rf1. – hoacin Jun 2 '17 at 4:19
  • 4
    Why don't you read the laws first? It is pretty unambiguous on this one. Anyway, DM answered your question. – IA Petr Harasimovic Jun 2 '17 at 9:27
  • If it wasn't counted as a king move, maybe you could castle twice. – Dag Oskar Madsen Jun 2 '17 at 13:14
  • In a tournament a couple of years back my opponent's king moved to f7 and back to e8. He then tried to castle, illegally, and because castling is a move of the king the arbiter required him to move his king. There was only one possible square, and this dropped his other rook. – Ian Bush Feb 23 '18 at 14:45
  • I once lost a game because I touched my rook first and opponent called the arbiter. – Allure Apr 21 at 3:45
11

The FIDE rules say this about castling:

This is a move of the king and either rook of the same colour along the player’s first rank, counting as a single move of the king

  • 1
    Strange definition: This is a move of the king and...rook..., counting as a move of the king. Does this "counting" only apply to the touch-move rule or to anything else? – user1583209 Jun 2 '17 at 8:20
  • 2
    "Counting as a single move of the king" applies to everything of course. Castle is a king's move that's it. It does involve two pieces but that is the same as capturing a piece or promoting a pawn these moves also involve two pieces but they are single moves of only one of them. – IA Petr Harasimovic Jun 2 '17 at 9:33
  • @IAPetrHarasimovic What do you mean by "everything". Or asked differently: If this rule did not exist, how would this change chess? – user1583209 Jun 2 '17 at 10:44
  • @user1583209 You must touch and move the king first. – Paul Jun 2 '17 at 16:48
  • 2
    I'm not 100% sure about the proposed edit - especially the part where "This is for sure the reasons why many sites and apps show Castling available only when selecting the king not the rook.". Honestly, the programs are probably written that way because it's unambiguous, not because of FIDE touch-move rules that don't really apply to programs anyway. If you move your king two squares, that's obviously a castle. But if you move your rook to f1 or d1, that's a perfectly legal move - how would the program know whether you wanted to castle or just move the rook? – D M Jun 2 '17 at 18:52
3

Castling is a combination move of both pieces. The king should be moved first or both pieces simultaneously, since a rook move could stand alone and an opponent might make you stop your move at that point as being "legal", not letting you complete castling.

1

enter image description here

As a purely separate thought on the stupidity of the current rule consider the following hypothetical case: White can castle, but both the f- and h-files are open. White plays Rf1, suddenly realises he has missed a much stronger move and quickly moves his king to g1 . As the rule stands his opponent or, as happened in a recent Soviet event, the arbiter can insist on a rook move. White calmly plays the winning Rh1-h8.

  • 2
    Rather seems like an incorrect application of the rules to me. In addition to "touch-move", there's the little brother rule that says that if a player let's go of a piece, the move is completed and he can't retract that move (if it was legal), period. If White has let go of the rook on f1, then nothing that happens with the king afterwards changes the fact that he has just played Rf1. He might as well put his king on a1 before pressing the clock (another illegal action)... Rf1 stands. – Annatar Feb 23 '18 at 12:45
  • 4
    By the way, "recent Soviet"? 28+ years is not "recent". ;) – Annatar Feb 23 '18 at 12:45
  • 1
    Formerly the arbiter only gave a warning when a player had castled incorrectly. Since the FIDE congress of Thessaloniki 1984 a player is punished with an obligatory move with the rook with which he wanted to castle. – Nordlandia Feb 23 '18 at 14:50
-5

Basic Common-sense . When the word is castling then it means it has something to do with the King . The King enters a safe zone and it is a King move .

  • 4
    The word may be "castling" in English but anything else in any other language (like for example the German or Italian for "bishop" have nothing to do with a bishop). Do not assume rules extrapolating from one language wording. – gented Jun 2 '17 at 8:25
  • 2
    The rook actually represents a castle. So following your logic, it should be called a rook move. – jf328 Jun 2 '17 at 8:50
  • I am not relating to a one to one mapping with every language and piece . All the Chess pieces here are have their respective meaning in English only, like the Rook acts like an Elephant , Pawn a soldier , Knight a horse etc . The castling as the name suggest deals with the King . – Seth Projnabrata Jun 2 '17 at 8:56
  • 2
    @SethProjnabrata: The rook never represents a Castle . Please check Wikipedia Perhaps you have a different wikipedia than the one I look at: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rook_(chess) – user1583209 Jun 2 '17 at 10:48
  • 1
    @SethProjnabrata Nobody is questioning that castiling is in fact a King's move (whatever that may mean): we are questioning the fact that the logic you use in your answer to derive it is incorrect (as naming and figures conventions strongly depends on the language). – gented Jun 2 '17 at 13:10

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.