[title "White to move"]
[fen "8/8/4kr1Q/1p2pp2/1P1n4/p3K3/P7/8 w - - 0 1"]

I’m looking at this current position, and I think I'm going to lose, as I have limited mobility with both my king and queen. But a friend suggested otherwise, saying that I should put more focus on destabilizing the pawns up front, and therefore I have a high probability of winning otherwise.

Suggestions would be appreciated.

  • 1
    Is this a game you are playing currently? Do the rules allow you to get help from anyone in the world?
    – bof
    Dec 11, 2016 at 4:21
  • 1
    This is against a bot on a high difficulty(for me), so I don't think it breaks any rules.
    – jch
    Dec 11, 2016 at 4:24
  • 2
    I only see a perpetual for White here.
    – Tony Ennis
    Dec 11, 2016 at 4:43

3 Answers 3


Looks rather lost (for white) to me. Black basically has a fortress except for the a3 pawn.

If white wanted to win this (with black not doing anything), you'd have to win the a3 pawn, play a4 and promote a pawn. I don't think white has time for this as black's e,f-pawns will run very fast.

So the only realistic chance is a perpetual.


Black threatens Nc2+ and this allows one or both the white pawns to be captured. You would have to virtually dedicate your Q to preventing this. No matter what you attempt, Black has strong replies.

I agree perpetual check is your best option.


Is it winnable? Maybe. Against a person that could happen. Against a good engine more unclear.

The final result is past the horizon that people and likely machine can compute.

I see white getting at least a draw. And I can see that white might win. I would not resign nor accept a draw with white. Not against a human. I would keep playing and trying to win. Keeping the possibility of perpetual in reserve.

I would first look at what seems to be the possibilities that would arise. It will depend a lot on how black chooses to play. I can see black ensuring the draw if he does not try to win. But it is still hard to tell what will happen with certainty.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge that you have read and understand our privacy policy and code of conduct.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.