3

If you promote a pawn do you get a second move to move it out of danger? Or do you still only get the promotion as your move and it becomes the opponents move?

  • 2
    cool idea, but no it doesn't work like that – Laska May 17 '18 at 19:59
16

Once you have promoted your pawn do you get a second move to move it out of danger?

No.

Or do you still only get the promotion as your move and it becomes the opponents move?

Yes.

From the FIDE Laws of Chess:

3.7.e When a player, having the move, plays a pawn to the rank furthest from its starting position, he must exchange that pawn as part of the same move for a new queen, rook, bishop or knight of the same colour on the intended square of arrival.

There is no discussion of extra turns.

2

NO. You move the pawn to the eighth rank, promote it to a piece, and then your turn ends.

What confuses some people is that the "promotion" is a second action, which feels like a second turn. So they wrongly remember getting a second "turn."

-4

Once a pawn has reached the 8th rank, the player may then, on another turn, promote their pawn to another piece, this action will use the turn.

  • 5
    This answer is wrong. – Herb Wolfe Oct 29 '18 at 2:27

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.