We are installing the Gull engine for some chess enthusiasts in an organization. We would like to set 6 difficulty levels from beginner to master using depth. Is there someone who can advice us about which values are the most accurate and progressive for each level?

  • Can you just do 3,4,5,6,7,8 etc?
    – SmallChess
    Commented Jun 28, 2016 at 7:26
  • depth is the number of half moves the search nominally looks ahead, so it's a little bit hard to define. Middle game junior usually gets 14-16 depth to be competitive Commented Jun 28, 2016 at 8:14

1 Answer 1


You may find this post by the developers of the website https://lichess.org/ helpful.

Although they use Stockfish as the engine, they set the search depths as such (note that they have eight levels of play):

  • AI level 1: skill 3/20, depth 1, 50ms
  • AI level 2: skill 6/20, depth 2, 100ms
  • AI level 3: skill 9/20, depth 3, 150ms
  • AI level 4: skill 11/20, depth 4, 200ms
  • AI level 5: skill 14/20, depth 6, 250ms
  • AI level 6: skill 17/20, depth 8, 300ms
  • AI level 7: skill 20/20, depth 10, 350ms
  • AI level 8: skill 20/20, depth 12, 400ms

I have personally played and seen others play against the varying levels. Level 1 is almost joke worthy--the computer may move his queen completely into danger, completely miss checkmates, etc.

On the other hand, level eight is crushing; beating it requires repeated practice over the same line (at least, that is the only way I've seen people beat it).

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.