If you modify chess so that white gets to make one extra move within the first 10 moves, is it possible to show there is a non-losing strategy for white?


Student T gives an explicit answer, but you can also view it from a game-theoretical perspective.

Suppose normal chess is a draw (or a win for black). Then, white can play 1. Ng1-f3 and Nf3-g1, effectively becoming black and the rest of the game is normal, so it is a draw (or a win for white).

Suppose normal chess is a win for white. This will almost certainly involve moving a pawn two steps from its initial position within the first 10 moves, or moving a bishop, queen, rook or king. You can use your extra move to perform this move in two steps, e.g. e2-e3-e4 or Bf1-d3-e2.

In any case, White will not lose the game.

  • That is a very elegant answer! Apr 4 '16 at 8:12
  • 1
    This is a non-constructive proof. You must be a mathematician! Apr 4 '16 at 8:39
  • This is not a proof. The knight manoeuvre cost two tempi, not only one. Thus it does not prove that Black has no winning strategy. Apr 4 '16 at 10:06
  • 1
    @jknappen - the second tempo is 'paid' by the extra move White gets. And DagOskarMadsen, you are right.
    – Glorfindel
    Apr 4 '16 at 10:38

Yes. 1.e4, then move the white Queen out to f3|g4|h5. Prepare for Qxf7+ then Qxe8 or Qxd7+ then Qxe8. Now white wins because the black king is gone.

  • 1
    Say 1.e4 Nf6. Can you win Black's king by force now? Or are you just going to grab a piece? Can you prove that White can win or draw with an extra piece?
    – bof
    Apr 4 '16 at 9:03
  • 2. e5 and your knight can't run (otherwise 3. e6 wins) so white can at least grab your knight without using his extra move.
    – jf328
    Apr 4 '16 at 12:17
  • 2.Bc4 can give Black some trouble. 1.e4 Nf6 2.Bc4 (threatens 3.Qh5,Qxf7#) g6 3.e5 (threatens 4.e6,exf7# or 4.Qf3,Qxf7# if the knight moves anywhere but d5, where it is lost.) e6 4.exf6. Now if 4…Qxf6 5.Qf3,Qxf6 and if anything else then 5.Qg4 threatens 6.Qxe6,Qxf7# or even just 6.Qxe6,Qxe8#. 5…Be7 doesn't prevent mate on f7, and 5…Qe7 or 5…Qf6 loses the queen. Also 5…d5 just loses to 6.Bb5,Bxe8# Sacrificing the knight on d5 on move 2 or 3, followed by e6, seems best for Black, but probably still loses. Jul 11 '16 at 9:42

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.