Does PGN have any annotations for draw offers? Just adding = after a move doesn't seem to work everywhere. Among the standard NAGs there is $10 (a drawish or even position) which translates as =; or I can use a comment. But I am wondering whether there's a specific way of adding a draw offer.

2 Answers 2


There is no symbol for a draw offer. Just add a comment {draw offered}

  • 3
    It's weird as FIDE rules says The offer of a draw shall be noted by each player on his scoresheet with a symbol. (=) and yet it hasn't been implemented in PGN. Thanks!
    – Samurai
    Commented Nov 16, 2015 at 23:36
  • 1
    The FIDE rule is more recent than the PGN standard, which was written in 1994.
    – gcp
    Commented May 17, 2018 at 10:00
  • @Samurai thanks for sharing the fide rule!
    – BCLC
    Commented Jan 23, 2021 at 6:30
  • I just implemented in #57 of my pgn-parser that recording of a draw offer. Yes, it is not part of the spec, but it is reasonable that the rules given by FIDE should be respected.
    – mliebelt
    Commented Nov 20, 2021 at 21:54

I think the answer should be, that the format has to include the parentheses. So a draw offer in some PGN notation should look like:

1. e4 e5 (=)

So black is offering a draw after his first move.

See the example game at the end of section C that looks like:

  1. e4 e5 2. Nf3 Nf6 3. d4 exd4 4. e5 Ne4 5. Qxd4 d5 6. exd6e.p. Nxd6 7. Bg5 Nc6 8. Qe3+3 Be7 9. Nbd2 0-0 10. 0-0-0 Re8 11. Kb1 (=)

PS: Shameless plug: I have just implemented that in my pgn-parser, see #57.

  • Tried to use that notation in lichess (analysis or study), and of course it fails. So yes, there seems to be not so many implementations of that rule of chess.
    – mliebelt
    Commented Nov 20, 2021 at 22:01

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.