Today at the local tournament I noticed this. It was my turn - my opponents clock was running.

It turned out to be this way. My opponent had pulled the time control of his neighbor, accidently. We was playing two on each table, (sitting four people on each table in a room). Some time had gone while our dear neighbor had lost time on the clock. Naturally we did like this, pulling his clock. The question was this. How much extra time would our neighbor get, the one whos clock had been pulled.

I called the judge and we tried to correct the misstake (very improvised).

We did not know how long it had been this way. What to do?


First of all: unbiased sources might be available. A spectator might have noticed it or a player might have recorded clock readings on the scoresheet. DGT boards record the exact time, too.

Naturally, the player who lost time should get back exactly the time he lost.

Now three unreliable sources of information are available to the arbiter: the person who accidentally pressed the wrong clock and the two players on the other board. They should be able to agree on a rough estimate of the time elapsed. (Has it been five minutes or ten? You should be able to tell.) The arbiter should adjust both clocks accordingly, maybe adding a minute for the disturbance caused.

| improve this answer | |
  • Thanks for input ! - Seems like 'good speculation' - Which was what I wanted when asking. – r4. Oct 19 '15 at 4:52

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.