5

If a move creates the 50 move violation and at the same time creates checkmate, does the checkmate take priority over the draw ?

  • The answer on this thread is interesting too - can I suggest both threads be linked to each other – M.M Apr 5 '18 at 21:53
10

Checkmate overrides the 50 move rule.

Fide Handbook Article 9.3:

The game is drawn, upon a correct claim by a player having the move, if:

a. he writes his move, which cannot be changed, on his scoresheet and declares to the arbiter his intention to make this move which will result in the last 50 moves by each player having been made without the movement of any pawn and without any capture, or

b. the last 50 moves by each playerhave been completed without the movement of any pawn and without any capture.

The player making the move that mates could claim a, but he of course won't do it because he is about to win. The player losing does not have the move after the checkmate, so he cannot claim the draw.

This interpretation is also confirmed by Geurt Gijssen, in his column An Arbiter's Notebook from 2006:

Regarding your remark about the 50-move rule: only the player on move is entitled to claim a draw, but he is not forced to claim it. So if the 50th move produces checkmate – the checkmate stands.

  • I also confirmed exactly this interpretation with FIDE Senior Arbiter, Stewart Reuben. Note that this aligns with the 75 move rule, which explicitly states that checkmate overrides the draw condition. It would be good if the questioner marked this reply by JiK as the correct one. – Laska Apr 6 '18 at 1:12
1

You are allowed to make 50 moves to achieve mate.

If you make 51 moves, your opponent can claim a draw.

You do not make a move to create the move violation, if you have not mated or otherwise ended the game before 50 moves have been made, the player on move may claim a draw.

  • 3
    The game won't end automatically after 50 moves; the player having the move needs to claim it. – JiK Oct 16 '15 at 17:04
  • 1
    Thx all. I've been making a chess GUI, and this came up, now I know how to handle it. Thx Again :) – Tom Gardiner Oct 18 '15 at 1:16
1

The FIDE later updated the laws, after which a duplicate question was inadvertently asked (by me) on this site. The answers to the duplicate are interesting, considerate and contradictory.

This suggests that, unfortunately, there may exist no common understanding as to what the rule in question actually means.

The irony is that players with opposite interpretations of the rule can perhaps agree that the answer you are now reading were wrong, insofar as each opposite player believes the rule in question to be unambiguous, but unambiguous in opposite ways!

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.