8

Taken from:

Chess Academy: A subtle blunder

[Title "White to move"]
[FEN "r1bqr1k1/pp1nbpp1/4pn1p/2pp4/2PP1B2/P1NBPN2/1P3PPP/R2Q1RK1 w - - 0 1"]

White can play Nb5 followed by Nc7 but wouldn't Black play Rf8 beforehand?

  • 1
    what was the last move before this position (by black)? – user8213 Sep 26 '15 at 2:08
15

This is a familiar tactic I often get to use myself in another opening line. If black plays 1... Rf8, then comes 2. Bc7! Qe8 3. Nd6 Bxd6 4. Bxd6 and black loses the exchange anyway.

[Title "White to move"]
[FEN "r1bqr1k1/pp1nbpp1/4pn1p/2pp4/2PP1B2/P1NBPN2/1P3PPP/R2Q1RK1 w - - 0 1"]

1. Nb5 Rf8 2. Bc7! Qe8 3. Nd6 Bxd6 4. Bxd6

Chess is about patterns. Since I was familiar with the pattern, I spotted this tactic immediately.

  • 1
    Thanks, this is a wonderful answer. It is interesting how threatening to fork the Rooks allows you to guarantee a Rook capture even when the fork is supposedly evaded. This is something I've seen in Chess often, where there is some sort of balance of power that maintains unless one blunders. – wolfdawn Sep 23 '15 at 15:36

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.