en-passant is a rule allowing a pawn to make a special-case capture.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

4
votes
1answer
257 views

Draws, en passant, and the FIDE's 2014 rulebook revision

Effective July 2014, the FIDE has revised its Laws of Chess. Some questions occur regarding the revision, including one re draws and en passant. [Title "Black to move"] [FEN ...
2
votes
3answers
648 views

When is it possible to carry out the “En Passant” manoeuvre?

This manoeuvre is a form of pawn capturing technique. When a player’s pawn jumps two spaces on a first move, that piece can then be taken from the side as the opposing pawn moves into the moving ...
5
votes
5answers
285 views

Why can't a piece (that isn't a pawn) capture en passant?

Why can't a piece (that isn't a pawn) capture en passant? When a pawn makes a two-square move, the en passant rule says that on the next move, any pawn that could have captured it on the ...
2
votes
1answer
181 views

Pawn giving checkmate

My computer checkmated me with a pawn move. I could have taken that pawn en passant but I wasn't given a chance to do that. Was that a fault of my computer, or is there a rule stating that a pawn ...
4
votes
2answers
310 views

Is it possible to capture en passant twice with the same pawn?

I am still confused about the en passant rule. There are two possibilities that I am not clear about. [FEN ""] 1. d4 d6 2. d5 c5 3. dxc6 b5 ( 3. c4 e5 4. dxe6) Scenario 1 :: The main line above Is ...
7
votes
2answers
477 views

What serious use of en-passant has been made recently?

I'm a (very) amateur player and have seen the use of en-passant only a couple of times in club games. Chess books I've read (Soltis, Weeramantry, Pandolfini,etc.) feature hardly any games having ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

When and why was en passant invented?

Other than castling, the only "strange" move that chess pieces can ever make is en passant. It seems a little odd to me that someone thought that such a "different" move was so important to include ...
15
votes
2answers
733 views

Rules: en passant and draw by triple repetition

A question of rulebook pedantry: One can claim a draw when the same position occurs the third time, the same player having the move. Two positions are not the same if the earlier allows a capture en ...