Take the 2-minute tour ×
Chess Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for serious players and enthusiasts of chess. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If a King, Knight, and Bishop are pitted against the opposing King, is it possible to force checkmate? I find it very hard to do, enough so that I'm not sure whether there's a clean method.

share|improve this question
add comment

5 Answers 5

up vote 20 down vote accepted

Yes, mate can be forced in 33 moves from nearly any position, according to Wikipedia.

See the standard "w" maneuver cited in that article.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Yes it is possible to force mate. There's a phenomenal video explaining the process on chessvideos.tv.

If you want to practice the endgame, you can do so on the same site as well.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Yes, it can be done. The standard position is to force the enemy king into a corner of the same color as the bishop. Then there are four squares (the corner, the diagonal, and two lateral) squares that need to be attacked.

The bishop attacks the corner and diagonal squares, the king guards one of the lateral squares, and the knight the other one.

share|improve this answer
    
Diagram oh so welcome. This would really make this question and answer incredibly more useful (tell me if you'd rather have me post it). –  Nikana Reklawyks Nov 27 '12 at 5:02
1  
@NikanaReklawyks feel free to edit the posts and add a replayer yourself, or add a new answer drawing from the other answers! (see also the FAQ section about editing.) –  Andrew Dec 3 '12 at 17:16
add comment

Yes it is. Check out this video!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r3EqM17jvOc

The general rule is to get the opponent king in the same corner as your bishop. Use the knight and king to control the squares of opposite color to the color your bishop controls. Then, drive the opponent king to one of the two corners with the correct color!

share|improve this answer
add comment

It is not always possible , I try out everything possible in maximum cases I found it written as possible but then I started playing obtaining that position with chess grandmaster , it doesn't let his game defeated by any cost , then I tried grandmaster with various softwares and finally game draw .

share|improve this answer
2  
It is actually always possible, except when the defender can take one of the pieces. Can you give an example of a position you think is a draw? –  Dag Oskar Madsen Jan 20 at 10:55
    
What do you mean by a "chess grandmaster"? A software or a human GM? –  JiK Jan 20 at 15:48
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.